Posted in Book Review

REVIEW: Dress Like a Girl by Patricia Toht


As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Barnes & Noble | Amazon

Title: Dress Like a Girl

Author: Patricia Toht

Illustrator: Lorian Tu-Dean

Published: January 22, 2019

Theme:  Empowerment

Character Origin: Human

Book Type: Picture Book | Pages: 32

Ages: 4-8 | Book Level: — | Lexile Measure:

Synopsis: A playful and fashionable slumber party takes an empowering turn in this gorgeous picture book, perfect for fans of Princesses Wear Pants and Rosie Revere, Engineer!

In these beautifully illustrated pages, a diverse cast of slumber party participants considers the most time-honored traditions for how to dress. If a lady should wear white in summertime, then how about donning a spacesuit? If team colors are apropos at sporting events, why not wear helmets and play ball?

Uplifting and resonant, and with a variety of interests ranging from sports to science to politics, this book is sure to inspire any young girl, instilling the idea that the best way to dress like a girl is the way that makes you feel most like YOU!

“What does it mean to dress like a girl?

My thoughts…

This book encourages girls to dress in whatever way FEELS best. There is no stereotype here. Be your own best self–however that looks. There is no set way to be you. You set that standard. You make those rules. Girls will really connect with this book. Each of us can dress in whatever way feels right to us.

The illustrations were quite lovely and playful. Tu-Dean blends various artistic mediums to create this enjoyable visual palette. The size of the text makes it easy for a young reader to finger track. When read aloud the words have a somewhat harmonic quality. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would equally enjoy a male version as well (hint..hint!).

My rating…

Posted in Book Review

REVIEW: Melia and Jo by Billy Aronson

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Barnes & Noble | Amazon

Title: Melia and Jo

Author: Billy Aronson

Illustrator: Jennifer Oxley

Published: February 2018

Theme: Cooperation and Friendship

Character Origin: Human

Book Type: Picture Book | Pages: 48

Ages: 4-7 | Book Level: |Lexile Measure: AD610L

Synopsis: Melia is scientific and loves to create things in her backyard laboratory, but something is missing. Her inventions just aren’t quite right. Enter Jo, her new friend with an artistic spirit. When you add the arts to sciences, something magical happens! This whimsically illustrated picture book is the perfect introduction to the benefits of STEAM-focused curriculum.

My summary…

This story is about Melia, an inventor. Only her inventions never quite worked or were just missing something. That is until she met, Jo, her quirky new neighbor. The unlikely pair form a friendship and begin creating together.

“Can we be a team, Jo?”

My thoughts…

This is a STEAM book! An actual girls in STEAM book. This book highlights how girls can invent things and how differences can actually be the connective tissue that brings us together. Jo’s artistic approach allowed Melia to view her inventions differently. Art and Science–are you sensing a theme here? And I love it!

The illustrations were well done and there was a nice flow to the story. The writer including diversity among the girls further emphasizes that differences are okay. I found the STEAM pages at the end a nice touch and a great way to remind young girls that they belong in STEAM. Melia and Jo are my new STEAM Dream Team!

My rating…