Posted in Book Review

REVIEW: Dress Like a Girl by Patricia Toht


As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Barnes & Noble | Amazon

Title: Dress Like a Girl

Author: Patricia Toht

Illustrator: Lorian Tu-Dean

Published: January 22, 2019

Theme:  Empowerment

Character Origin: Human

Book Type: Picture Book | Pages: 32

Ages: 4-8 | Book Level: — | Lexile Measure:

Synopsis: A playful and fashionable slumber party takes an empowering turn in this gorgeous picture book, perfect for fans of Princesses Wear Pants and Rosie Revere, Engineer!

In these beautifully illustrated pages, a diverse cast of slumber party participants considers the most time-honored traditions for how to dress. If a lady should wear white in summertime, then how about donning a spacesuit? If team colors are apropos at sporting events, why not wear helmets and play ball?

Uplifting and resonant, and with a variety of interests ranging from sports to science to politics, this book is sure to inspire any young girl, instilling the idea that the best way to dress like a girl is the way that makes you feel most like YOU!

“What does it mean to dress like a girl?

My thoughts…

This book encourages girls to dress in whatever way FEELS best. There is no stereotype here. Be your own best self–however that looks. There is no set way to be you. You set that standard. You make those rules. Girls will really connect with this book. Each of us can dress in whatever way feels right to us.

The illustrations were quite lovely and playful. Tu-Dean blends various artistic mediums to create this enjoyable visual palette. The size of the text makes it easy for a young reader to finger track. When read aloud the words have a somewhat harmonic quality. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would equally enjoy a male version as well (hint..hint!).

My rating…

One thought on “REVIEW: Dress Like a Girl by Patricia Toht

Leave a Reply to Patricia Toht Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s